logo

Burgenstock Resort Palace Hotel Suite 2309

QUICK LINK MENU

Travel news and review links

Resort Reviews: Luxury resort reviews from Bora Bora to Switzerland More Info

Ship Reviews: Cruise Ship reviews More Info

Jet Charter: European charter options More Info

Travel Tips: Streamline your travel experience. More Info

FileMaker Software Solutions Developing database software for the travel industry More Info

Videos Videos of cruise ships and luxury resorts More Info

Topics Business, Influencer, Cruise, Travel topics and other Articles More Info

Email: greg@cruisingreview.com

TEL: 608-238-6001

image

Burgenstock Palace Hotel 2309

This was the seventh stay I've had at the Burgenstock resort complex. There's a reason why I continue to visit the Burgenstock, because of the incredible warm, relaxing, and appealing experience. It is simply the best.

The iconic world-class Burgenstock complex offers the best spa and resort in Europe. It will leave you feeling completely refreshed and even more excited to return again. It is this feeling that brings a loyal following to the Burgenstock.

Overall, this is my favorite resort in the world.

The staff and service are world-class (they love working there).

The location is amazing. The hiking and fresh alpine aire will rejunvinate you. The experience is quite simply the best in the world.

Food quality, presentation, and variety is off-the-charts amazing.

The Palace Hotel suite 2309 with open bathroom concept is to be avoided, while a better option is the lower cost standard room. I'm assuming the open bathroom concept is in the higher cost Palace rooms, again, to be avoided. Burgenstock information via PDF search

image

Items to Request at Check-in

For this trip we were a group of three friends. At check-in, be sure to confirm the following at check-in. The purpose of this is to reduce interaction with housekeeping or front desk after entering room (i.e. waiting for items to get your experience at top level).

- room key cards for each person

- cogwheel rail and shuttle catamaran access card

- shuttle schedule for each person

- power adaptor (in our case USA)

Note: They have standard Swiss outlets. On the desk they have a powerstrip which includes (2) USB outlets. Enough for one person, but not three. I travel with a Swiss-to-USA adaptor that has two built-in USB ports which is fine for charging my iPhone and power backup and other devices.

- Extra towels (if more than one person)

- Clear explanation of up-charges for SPA access (unless included with your room charge - which usually it is not unless you are booking at the Burgenstock hotel)

- Clear explanation of Swiss Covid Certificate access to restaurants and other areas.

Note: We had to get tested every two days which cost 100 CHF per person which can be done at the WaldHotel with a reservation.

Helicopter Transfer is available to and from the resort. You can take a private jet to the local airstrip (closed on Sundays from noise ordinances) at Bouchs LSZC.

Helicopter Transfer is available to and from the resort. You can take a private jet to the local airstrip (closed on Sundays from noise ordinances) at Bouchs LSZC.

Helicopter Transfer To and From Resort

If you're interested in chartering a helicopter (1-4 pax) from the Burgenstock Resort to Zurich airport (ZRH), the fee as of 19 Sep 2021 is around 2,500 CHF. About 30 minute or less flight.

If you are interested in a transfer from Zermatt via Air Zermatt, expect a cost of around 4,230 CHF (up to 4 pax depending on amount of luggage) to the Burgenstock resort direct. See .pdf landing permission form below. Request a quick spin around the Matterhorn enroute. Expect a 40 minutes flight with amazing service and great pilots.

https://airportbuochs.ch

20210917:

The Price in As 350 B3+ Single Engine would be:

CHF 4'230.- / Flight time approx. 40 Minutes

To make a reservation / book a flight we'll need following information:

 -       Name(s) of the passenger(s)

 -       Flight information: where they arrive from / leave to

 -       Luggage information: what kind of baggage and weight (ski equipment?)

 -       Passengers weight information

 -       Their residence in Zermatt (ordering taxi, etc.)

 -       A credit card number for the reservation of the total amount. The total amount will be definitively debited 24h before departure and fully refunded in case of cancellation due to weather conditions.

 -       Weather check: you have to define the date and time to decide if the flight is taking place or not and if we shall organise a backup transfer by taxi. Burgenstock Landing Permission Form in PDF Format as of 19 September 2021

Air Zermatt Sightseeing and Helicopter Charter around Zermatt and Resort or Airport Transfer to the Burgenstock Resort

Contact Air Zermatt

Email: Air Zermatt
image

Poor Suite Design - Open Bathroom Concept - Avoid this suite

Whomever thought up the open bathroom concept, clearly has never occupied a room with one. I've seen this in various versions from a window to view into or from the bathoom, partial walls, etc. The reality is that it's like having a toilet in the middle of the room. We want a bathroom for privacy. Probably the same reason Public Bathrooms are in a building, and separated by gender.

image

Helicopter Transfer To and From Resort

If you're interested in chartering a helicopter (1-4 pax) from the Burgenstock Resort to Zurich airport (ZRH), the fee as of 19 Sep 2021 is around 2,500 CHF. About 30 minute or less flight.

If you are interested in a transfer from Zermatt via Air Zermatt, expect a cost of around 4,230 CHF to the Burgenstock resort direct. See .pdf landing permission form below. Request a quick spin around the Matterhorn enroute. Expect a 40 minutes flight with amazing service and great pilots.

20210917:

The Price in As 350 B3+ Single Engine would be:

CHF 4'230.- / Flight time approx. 40 Minutes

To make a reservation / book a flight we'll need following information:

 -       Name(s) of the passenger(s)

 -       Flight information: where they arrive from / leave to

 -       Luggage information: what kind of baggage and weight (ski equipment?)

 -       Passengers weight information

 -       Their residence in Zermatt (ordering taxi, etc.)

 -       A credit card number for the reservation of the total amount. The total amount will be definitively debited 24h before departure and fully refunded in case of cancellation due to weather conditions.

 -       Weather check: you have to define the date and time to decide if the flight is taking place or not and if we shall organise a backup transfer by taxi. Burgenstock Landing Permission Form in PDF Format as of 19 September 2021

Air Zermatt Sightseeing and Helicopter Charter around Zermatt and Resort or Airport Transfer to the Burgenstock Resort

Contact Air Zermatt

Email: Air Zermatt

image

Very functional desk with USB ports and Swiss power jack. Behind is the minibar. Even though you pay over $1,600 a night, only a few items are included.

Very functional desk with USB ports and Swiss power jack. Behind is the minibar. Even though you pay over $1,600 a night, only a few items are included.

Snack Bar Optional

One of my big issues with high-end resorts is when they don't include everything presented at the in-suite minibar. When you charge for other items (candy bars, Gummy bears, and other trivial items), it looks cheap. I can't figure out why they do it, but it takes away from the amazing experience. Either include it, or simply don't have it.

If you need to offer trival items for a price, then have a resort store (Bugenstock has one with a great variety of items).

Better yet, explore the local town store and buy at a huge discount, while supporting the local economy.

image

How to Book

I book through Hotels.com (not sponsored) so I can get United points for my stay, since I get no discount or benefits from booking from other booking engines, or the resort directly.

I have tried in the past to book directly from the resort, and found that it may cost more, and is definitely more hassle. From time to time they try to include more benefits from booking via the resort directly, but most are breadcrumbing (click-bait), and in the form of discount (for example a $100 discount on a spa experience which will cost $200 or more to book).

This is typically done by higher-end resorts.

image

Room 2222

Suite 2222 with separate living room area (we used with a roll-away extra bed since we were three).

image

Open Concept Bathroom - Just Awful

The open concept bathroom is a disaster. Do not book this suite.

Example of a QR Code for Swiss Covid Certificate (Switzerland September 2021)

Example of a QR Code for Swiss Covid Certificate (Switzerland September 2021)

Our Experience with the Swiss Covid Certificate

It was with great anxiety that we started our vacation in Switzerland arriving on Monday 13 September 2021, which is when the Swiss Covid Certificate was required in resorts, restaurants, and other venues.

While I emailed in advance the resorts for advice, replies were slow to come back, so we got a free rapid Covid test when we landed in Geneva at Terminal 2 (free).

Much to my dismay, since the USA does not have a QR code for our vaccines, our manually, paper authenticated vaccine cards were not accepted in Switzerland. Only QR code vaccine documentation was allowed.

To get into restaurants (and other indoor venues such as museums), your Swiss Covid Certificate QR code is scanned and authenticated (verified valid). In Zermatt, we were not allowed to sit inside on multiple occasions.

Before we departed Zermatt, we visited the local doctors office to pay 80 CHF each, to get a rapid test, which is valid for two days. A PCR test (around 140 CHF each and results not available for a day) was good for 3 days.

When at the Burgenstock, we got tested at the on-site WaldHotel for 100 CHF each (rapid test), which was also good for our travel (flight) home on Swiss. We had to show the email pdf document (they would not scan the QR code at the airport).

This information is valid for September 2021. Of course it may change.

Example of a QR Code for Swiss Covid Certificate

For More Info…

All you need to know about the Swiss Covid Certificate

Coronavirus: COVID certificate

Swiss Covid Certificate - API documentation
My friend taking a photo with the wonderful bouquets of flowers in the main lobby

My friend taking a photo with the wonderful bouquets of flowers in the main lobby

More Detailed Reviews

As I slowly consolidate my business activites and focus more on travel, these reviews will get more detailed. Expect more content and delivery for reviews in future travels.

My off-travel activities include inventing, developing machines for the renewable energy industry, and now developing FileMaker databases, including apps for building websites (this was done on a FileMaker app) and Social Media posts on Instagram.

I love to combine my talents of database organization with travels to inform and entertain those who wish to travel abroad. Instagram for Pepe.G6

image

Towels

For a single occupant, the towel supply is perfect. If you are traveling with one of more women, or more than two in a room or suite, then you will be short. For this stay we were a group of three friends traveling together.

Most resorts know ahead of time for the booking the number of occupants, so it's a simple checklist item.

image

Pandemic Pricing

Like everyone else (except the Riffelalp Resort), the Burgenstock has upped its pricing by at least 30 percent (not including additional fees).

These days, trying to sort through a invoice at the end of your stay is like reading ancient Egyptian Hieroglyphs.

image

Shuttle time schedule

Shuttle time schedule

image

Swiss Covid Certificate (required after 13 September 2021)

Prior booking and during check-in, get a clear explanation of Swiss Covid Certificate access to restaurants and other areas.

Note: We had to get tested every two days which cost 100 CHF per person which can be done at the WaldHotel with a reservation. For our group of three friends, that was a 300 CHF expense I had to pay for every two days.

Look into less expensive options like the Binax Now proxied self-test, which generates a QR code.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Fireworks

$20,000

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Hotel Villa Honegg

Hotel Villa Honegg

image

image

image

image

image

CONTACT TEL: 608-238-6001 Email: greg@cruisingreview.com | RSS | AMP | PDF