logo

Cruise Ship Reviews | Luxury Resort | Jet | Yacht | and Travel Tech

QUICK LINK MENU

News: Travel news and review links More Info

Resort Reviews: Luxury resort reviews from Bora Bora to Switzerland More Info

Ship Reviews: Cruise Ship reviews More Info

Products: Products we use every day More Info

Jet Charter: Flight reviews and jet charter information More Info

Travel Tips: Streamline your travel experience. More Info

FileMaker Software Solutions Developing database software for the travel industry More Info

Videos Videos of cruise ships and luxury resorts More Info

Topics Business, Influencer, Cruise, Travel topics and other Articles More Info

Email: greg@cruisingreview.com

TEL: 608-238-6001

Burgenstock Resort above Lucerne Switzerland is my Favorite Resort in the World

Burgenstock Resort above Lucerne Switzerland is my Favorite Resort in the World

Top Pick for World's Best: The Burgenstock Resort

This is my all-time favorite resort, located above Lake Lucerne in Switzerland.

After undergoing a multi-hundred-million dollar facelift and renovation, the result is nothing short of spectacular. The staff is the best in the world.

The views, food, atmosphere and wonderful feeling will leave you spellbound.

For More Info…

Burgenstock Resort Website





block-image
Long wait times were experienced by many on Monday July 26 at Chicago Ohare airport

Long wait times were experienced by many on Monday July 26 at Chicago Ohare airport

Airports are a mess as travel increases to and from Europe

Poor airport planning and huge travel demand results in long lines, lots of waits, and inefficiency by overworked staff. This was my first trip back to Europe since 2019, and overall was fantastic. I am vaccinated and had no problem entering France (Paris) showing my passport and Covid vaccination card (no Covid test required).

The exit from Europe however, was an experience. On a Swiss flight (booked through United and also code-shared with United) departing from Zurich (ZRH), Switzerland, I experienced first-hand the frustrations of duplicate document checks, two agents working security for two full flights exiting the country, and flawed computer systems. On arrival to ORD, the 2 hour lines were exasperated by staff shortages. This is where Global Entry really shined. I was able to transit customs and immigration in about three minutes. Travel is back, so prepare for long lines, full aircraft, and lots of waiting.

Keep Reading…

July 2021 Sunset from the Riffelalp Resort

July 2021 Sunset from the Riffelalp Resort

Riffelalp Resort July 2021

The most amazing view in Europe, of the iconic Matterhorn. Resort is above Zermatt. Located half way up the Gornergrat, it has the best view of the western sky and sunset than anywhere in the region.

Keep Reading…

Riffelalp Resort Website

Riffelalp Room 501


Matterhorn in Zermatt Switzerland. The Riffelalp is my second favorite resort in the world. A must-see in Europe.

Matterhorn in Zermatt Switzerland. The Riffelalp is my second favorite resort in the world. A must-see in Europe.

The Best Kept Secret in Europe

With the Best View in the World The Riffelalp Resort at 2222 meters  above Zermatt, Switzerland

The most amazing view in Europe, of the iconic Matterhorn. Resort is above Zermatt. Located half way up the Gornergrat, it has the best view of the western sky and sunset than anywhere in the region.

The Matterhorn is in the foreground. Please follow the link below to read about this epic resort. Most recent visit during July 2021 (Room 501)

Keep Reading…

Riffelalp Resort Website

Riffelalp Room 501



block-image
Conrad Bora Bora Nui is the best resort in the Western Hemisphere (and Pacific) and tied for second best resort in the world.

Conrad Bora Bora Nui is the best resort in the Western Hemisphere (and Pacific) and tied for second best resort in the world.

Most Recent Travel: Bora Bora February 2021

February 2021: Just returned from a wonderful trip to French Polynesia and the Conrad Bora Bora Nui. The Conrad has now reopened as of May 2021 (mostly to Americans who are more free to travel due to the huge drop in Covid cases due to the vaccines).

Bora Bora Travel Review

Conrad Bora Bora Nui Website





block-image
MSC Bellissima Persian Gulf Cruise

MSC Bellissima Persian Gulf Cruise

Cruise News

This section will be for current travels, upcoming flights and cruises.

The big news of the day is moving the website from WordPress to our own proprietary web site generation program we developed using FileMaker database, which allows us to use all of our past cruise ship reviews from 2001 onwards. Trip Advisor

Instagram Link for Pepe.G6

YouTube Cruising Review Channel

AirBNB Search

United Airlines is now demonetizing your flight credit to half value by doubling the fare when you try to use that unused ticket.

United Airlines is now demonetizing your flight credit to half value by doubling the fare when you try to use that unused ticket.

What Happened United Airlines ? Demonetizing flight credits and impossible to get refunds.

I recently booked a trip to Paris in July 2021 with unused flight credits from last year during the pandemic. Remember when United canceled their change fees ? Well they have something better up their sleeve.

If I did a search for a standard economy fare (basic or standard) my fare was $1,300. But when I tried to use my $2,800 (Business Class fare) unused ticket to Europe from last year when the flight was canceled, the fare that pops up is $2,600. So basically United has decided to use a pricing model that demonetizes your paid fare by half. That's 100 percent profit. Upgrades have similar issues.

Even worse, last year the original fare was for Business Class. Now I can barely get Economy. So they did not honor the class booked. Now Business Class is $5,000-$10,000.

Clever.

To make matters worse, United offers a cabin upgrade offer, for 20,000 miles and $421 from Chicago to Paris. When I took the offer, United deducted 40,000 miles and $421, and did not even declare the miles deduced on the receipt. Go to the website (after waiting 1.5 hours on hold with United customer service) and the agent suggested to go to United/Refunds on the website. Unfortunately, you can't even file a complaint or refund request until the flight has already passed. I tried calling again today and after another hour on hold, I gave up.

Feeling screwed yet ? Yup.

I love United (pre-pandemic). The new United puts profits ahead of customer experience and has now gone down the rabbit hole of deceit.

The pandemic has spawned a littany of trumped up fees, and other expenses which they pass on to the customer, but which is pure profit to the company.

Remember that fuel surcharge ? How about employee wellness programs ? How about add on fees after you have shipped something ? Or better yet, how about that nice tip you charged on your bill for the fantastic spa massage or other experience (like drink tips). Yep, you guessed it, it goes directly to the owner or company. It's all profit mongering and greed. Next time ask where the tip goes, and you'll be surprised.

United, time to step up to the plate and treat your customers better. We love travel, let us spend money and travel, without the hassle of trying to figure out how you're demonetizing our hard earned money. We want you to thrive, but now at the expense of greed and deceit.

@unitedairlines

For More Info…

United Airlines Website

Refund Policy

Email Scott Kirby CEO - Chief Executive Officer
Sky Princess Cruise from Rome to Barcelona at Toulon

Sky Princess Cruise from Rome to Barcelona at Toulon

Sky Princess Cruise with Growing Up Without Borders

Series of videos of our cruise with the YouTuber family Growing Up Without Borders crew.

For More Info…

Growing Up Without Borders YouTube Channel

Growing Up Without Borders Website

Email: chantal@growingupwithoutborders.com
image

AirBNB Yacht:

Over the past year I’ve been developing a AirBNB renewable powered (solar PV) multihull. The basic concept is to provide a lake (or river) based yacht which has income potential from AirBNB, or similar business model. In Europe, real estate is so expensive, you could literally build a yacht for much less money, and cruise the many large waterways. Lake Geneva (Lac Léman) in Switzerland is one example.

The 60 ft. yacht will be a unique trimaran, with three carbon fiber hulls and all-systems and living quarters above the waterline.

The unique design will be a paddle-wheeler, to reflect traditional European lake and river cruisers. More important, the paddle-wheel was chosen over all other designs for ease of build, cost, durable, and dependable service. Built in modules, the vessel will be shippable via ocean freight container.

Lac Léman is a crescent-shaped lake shared with France and Switzerland, with views of the alps. The swiss city of Geneva, is on the southern tip. Évian-les-Bains is on the southern side. On the northern side is the Swiss Riviera which stretches from Lausanne to Montreux. Much of the northern side is covered with wine vineyards. More information can be found at our dedicated E Ship site

image

Imanta: Paradise Lost. The Good. The Bad. And the Ugly

Imanta Resort is the most architecturally stunning and wondrous natural setting in Mexico. It’s like a Mayan temple has risen from the forest to meet the ocean. The rolling pipeline surf provides a relaxing white noise as the sea comes ashore. I've been there three times, and the third will be my last. Follow the link below to find out why. Imanta Resort Review

Imanta Resort




AirBNB Villaneuve Switzerland

AirBNB Villaneuve Switzerland

Swiss Riviera Luxury Condo AirBNB

Looking for a wonderful AirBNB to stay while in Switzerland ?

Try this beautiful Villeneuve (Switzerland) luxury apartment, close to Montreux and on the sunny side of Lake Geneva (Lac Léman).

Only one block away from the lake, and a few blocks from the train, which connects east/southeast to Gstaad, Verbier, Zermatt, and southeast to Montreux, Lausanne, Vivey, and Geneva. Take the train northeast to Bern and from there to Lucerne and Zurich. Read the Review

Book Now Through AirBNB




MSC Bellissima: Beautiful ship but a cruise to avoid

MSC Bellissima: Beautiful ship but a cruise to avoid

MSC Bellissima: Beautiful ship but a cruise to avoid

Ever wonder what is too big for a cruise ship ? Look no further, it’s the MSC Bellissima. While a beautiful new ship, it’s overcrowded without the staff to support the 4,500 passenger load.

Antiquated card based POS systems only make things worse, especially when trying to incorporate the medallion RFID system.

Unsure if it’s the Italian way of doing business, or the staff is overwhelmed, but the organization is fraught with problems, inefficiencies, and has the potential for very unsanitary operating conditions, especially in the buffet area (no soap or sanitary lotion many times). MSC Bellissima: Cruise to avoid (pdf)

For More Info…

Charter Jet from Barcelona to Zurich OKJFA

Charter Jet from Barcelona to Zurich OKJFA

Why Charter A Jet?

On a recent cruise, our group chartered a small business jet from Barcelona to Zurich.

Not only was it super convenience, but an amazing experience.

Most locations in Europe are an easy 1.5 hour flight or less point to point. Chartering a jet provides a very economical way for 6 people to travel First Class, avoiding airport hassle of long lines and waits. It also provides a customized service to your destination direct. In this case, we were leaving the cruise ship on a Sunday, and wanted to spend a few days at the Burgenstock Resort near Lucerne, Switzerland. There is actually an airport next to the resort, but unfortunately closed on the weekends, so we had to fly into Zurich, then take a van (weather was not good enough for a helicopter transfer) to the resort.

For all your jet needs (this is a non-compensated link), please contact:

Gilbert Mindren / Jet Charter Specialist

Email: Gilbert Mindren

Tel. +41 22 788 6880

Mobile +41 79 611 7741

www.d-jet.aero D Jet Charter

Email: Charter Jet Request Quote

Charter Flights and Luxury Business Class Travel


Red Light Therapy at 660nm Improves Eyesight

Red Light Therapy at 660nm Improves Eyesight

Red Light Improves Eyesight

Recent studies (June 2020) confirm that for adults over 40, a red spectrum (LLLT or Low level light therapy) light can help the functioning of mitochondria.

There was a 14 percent improvement in the ability to see colors, or cone color contrast sensitivity, for the entire two dozen participants.

The spectrum for this therapeutic red light is around 660 nm. I have been using the Amzcool device (shown to the left and link below) for almost a year now, and love it. I use it for both my eyes, and for knee pain. It works for both eyes and skin healing (verfied by NASA).

For more details, please follow the link for our detailed review.

Science and Literature for Red Light Therapy

For More Info…

Buy Now: Amzcool Red Light Therapy Disc on Amazon (3.4 inch disc)

Email: Red Light Therapy Questions

Red Light Therapy Science Links
1922 jungfrau switzerland

1922 jungfrau switzerland

Postcards from the Past. 1922. Interlocken in June.

The Lauterbrunnen valley is the door into the Jungfrau region of Switzerland. This is when Will was visiting the high alpine region around Interlocken, and visited the glaciers in the alps.

This is just one of many postcards from the wonderful travels of Will McCracken (from Waterloo, Wisconsin) in his epic European tour in 1922. Postcards from the past

Using QR codes is good for machines, pdf, and websites for quick access to sites.

Using QR codes is good for machines, pdf, and websites for quick access to sites.

New Web Site Format

This website will be the first test of our new Millenium Web Engine, which is based on using a Filemaker (Claris) database backbone. The primary goal is to build a website using semantics specifically referenced by Google (metatags and proper page building), so that their search spiders and page ranking derive better results. Part of this initiative is building a business around .pdf documents and QR codes, so that customers can easily reference website pages for additional information, including order products and services. The strategy is function over form. Using First Principles, we are building a Web Engine that provides useful information quickly, and without a lot of clutter which is found in most pretty websites (i.e. WordPress). Building a website rich in .pdf and QR codes provides the view with a better and faster experience. Making the entire process into a database and AI, makes it even better. You control the website and the data (not WordPress). It's more durable, and always backed up on your local computer. WordPress does not do daily backups, as claimed. When your business depends on your website, you need to take control of its foundation. Claris (division of Apple) makes FileMaker database for both desktop computers (Win/Mac) and mobile applications on iPad and iPhone

image

Travel Blogger Software

Need to get organized ? We are now making available our software apps to travel bloggers. Based on Filemaker platform (Mac, Windows, and Mac IOS Filemaker Go), we have developed some industry specific apps that will increase your efficiency, reduce time, and give you valuable heads-up time while doing reviews, blogs, and video blogs. Travel Blogger Software Page

Digital Nomad Course offered by Chantal Patton




BORA BORA SUNSET

BORA BORA SUNSET

New: Videos

Watch the CruisingReview videos from YouTube all on one page. YouTube Video

For More Info…

CruisingReview YouTube Channel




image

Page Format

This website is rendered for standard USA printing. Margins are set for 8.5 inch printing. QR codes are for active sites and links. The goal of this functionality is for ease in saving to PDF or printing directly as a brochure. The QR code printed out on each page allows easy access via most smart phones to directly link the website with a simple scan via the phone (most phones now scan QR code under the photo setting, and then take you to the website). This is further extended to equipment businesses where QR code labels can be placed directly on a machine or part for reference and reordering. Essentially, the QR code and website become a E commerce system, all built into one.

Princess Cruises: Sky Princess

Princess Cruises: Sky Princess

Princess Cruises: Sky Princess

November 2019... coming soon

Chantal Patton Digital Nomad Course

Chantal Patton Digital Nomad Course

Learn how to become a digital nomad:

Chantal Patton, host of the famous YouTube Channel Growing Up Without Borders has made a course that teaches you how to work while abroad and traveling. Digital Nomad Course by Chantal Patton

Digital Nomad Search Publications

Growing Up Without Borders Website

YouTube Channel for Growing Up Without Borders

qr-code-image

CONTACT TEL: 608-238-6001 Email: greg@cruisingreview.com | RSS | AMP